The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

angel's gameThe Angel’s Game is narrated by David Martín, a struggling crime novelist in 1920s Barcelona who signs an incredibly lucrative book deal with a mysterious French publisher, unaware of just how high the stakes are.

The Angel’s Game is a sequel of sorts to Zafón’s novel The Shadow of the Wind, though they can be read independently of one another.

“Even then my only friends were made of paper and ink. […] Words and the mystery of their hidden science fascinated me, and I saw in them a key with which I could unlock a boundless world, a safe haven from that home, those streets, and those troubled days in which even I could sense that only a limited fortune awaited me.”

Carlos Ruiz Zafón is the author of The Shadow of the Wind, The Angel’s Game, The Prisoner of Heaven, and several young adult novels.  He lives in Barcelona, Spain.

Published:  2009
Length:  520 pages
Set in:  Barcelona, Spain
Translated by: Lucia Graves



Book Depository


Disclosure: Read the World receives a small commission for items purchased through the above links. Any revenue generated contributes directly to the cost of running this site.