The Secret History by Donna Tartt

imageThe Secret History opens with a murder and then retraces the events that led to this crime.  Following a group of exclusive, eccentric students at the small and elite Hampden College in Vermont.  In between classes in Ancient Greek literature, the students seek out beauty and hedonistic pleasure, only to find obsession, betrayal, and cruelty.

“For a moment, as his arm touched mine, he was a creature of flesh and blood, but the next he was a hallucination again, a figment of the imagination stalking down the hallway as heedless of me as ghosts, in their shadowy rounds, are said to be heedless of the living.”

Donna Tartt is the author of novels The Secret History, The Little Friend, and The Goldfinch, which won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2014.

Published:  1992
Length:  514 pages
Set in:  Vermont, United States



Book Depository


Disclosure: Read the World receives a small commission for items purchased through the above links. Any revenue generated contributes directly to the cost of running this site.